State Pump Track Championships

Albany will host Australia’s biggest pump track event over the September long weekend when the inaugural State Pump Track Championships happen. Gear up for an extraordinary cycling spectacle as Albany, Western Australia, prepares to host the most significant pump track event of the year. This event promises to be an adrenaline-fueled extravaganza, drawing the most skilled riders from across the state to compete at the biggest pump track in Australia.

The anticipation is mounting as Albany readies itself to welcome pump track enthusiasts and high-profile riders for a thrilling weekend of intense competition and will provide the perfect canvas for these athletes to showcase their skills, precision, and speed. The pump track that will be the centerpiece of this event is the largest in

Australia. With its sheer size and impressive layout, this pump track sets the stage for a breathtaking display of mountain biking finesse. Spectators, cycling enthusiasts, families, and friends are invited to join this exciting weekend of fun and excitement. Witnessing the raw talent and determination of the riders is an opportunity not to be missed.

Saturday 23 September From 12pm – Youth Challenge Park

Official Launch | Event Village | WA State Pump Track Championships & Presentations

The largest dedicated pump, skate and BMX track in Australia. Southern Peaks 2023 celebrates this incredible regional facility with ‘Have a go sessions’ followed by hosting the first WA State Pump Track Championships and Freestyle BMX and dirt jump aerial demonstrations, the ultimate combination of style and skills performed by pro riders. The event village will be a hub and buzz of activity, the location of event HQ, registrations, entertainment zone and loads of activity.

Entry Cost

Junior – $20

Standard $30


Registrants will participate for places as follows:


U7 male/female

U9 male/female

U11 male/female

U13 male/female

U15 male/female

U17 male/female

U19 male/female

Open male/female

Masters 1-2 male/female

Masters 3-4 male/female

Masters 5-6 male/female


Race Format

Competition consists of free practice sessions, a qualification session, and two finals sessions. Riders will start on the roll in ramp at the start line and get ready with one foot on the ground. The starting point will be a start ramp without automated start procedure (no lights, nor sound) Riders will start with one foot on the ground. The only start procedure notification will be a verbal “Riders Ready” from the starter. Timing will commence when a rider crosses the starting mat and will conclude when they cross the finish mat.


The qualification shall consist of two compulsory qualifying runs in a flying lap format, with the fastest lap counting for qualifying: The rider gets up to speed, time starts running as soon as the rider crosses the start / finish timing unit, time stops when the rider crosses the unit again. A schedule of category qualification start times will be published prior to

competition commencing. All riders will start from the same ramp.

Finals runs will consist of one attempt only. The top 8 riders in each division (fastest times) will progress to the semi-finals. Divisions with less than 8 riders will still feature the qualification round. The race order for the semi-finals will be slowest to fastest. The top 4 riders in each divisional semi-final will progress to the main final. The race order for the main final will be slowest to fastest.

If a rider does not complete a full run, rider will be scored DNF without re-run.

Under 7 and Under 9 divisions will not complete a semi-final. They will run a straight final after qualification beginning at 6.00pm.

Start Lists for all finals will be published following completion of the qualification session and displayed on the Results/Info Board.

The category order for all qualification and finals will be female and then male in the following order:

Under 7, Under 9, Under 11, Under 13, Under 15, Masters 5/6, Masters 3/4, Masters 1/2, Under 17, Under 19 and Open.


  • A minimum wheel size of 20 inches is required for the men and women open categories. Children’s categories can use smaller wheels.
  • Riders are permitted one pedal revolution on the roll in ramp.
  • Under 7 and Under 9 competitors WILL NOT use the roll in ramp. They will commence with a short pedal in alongside the roll in ramp.
  • The bike should have at least 1 rear brake.
  • UCI/AusCycling tech regs do not require removal of chain.
  • No bikes with any kind of automatic transmission, pedal assist motors or engines are allowed.
  • No protruding parts on the bike, which can injure other riders (such as pegs) are permitted.
  • Riders are not allowed to use pedals where their shoes are fixed to the pedal through a clipless system. Flat pedals only.
  • Riders must stay in the marked Pump Track lane. Rider will be DQ’d if a time advantage is gained by short cutting or leaving the course.
  • A helmet must be worn properly both when racing and when training on the track. An open face helmet is mandatory while a full-face helmet is strongly recommended.
  • A shirt is mandatory while long sleeve shirt and elbow pads are recommended.
  • Regular shoes are mandatory, sandals or other open shoes are not permitted.
  • Full finger gloves are recommended. Long pants and/or knee protection is recommended.

Race Schedule

Saturday 23rd September

12.00 – 3.00pm Timed practice all categories

3.30-4.30pm Qualification all categories

5.00-6.00pm Semi-finals (top 8 all categories) | Finals Under 7’s and Under 9’s

6.30-7.30pm Finals (top 4 all categories except U/7’s and U/9’s)

8.00pm Presentations